Make your own free website on

Wairarapa Bush

Club Rugby | Club Web Sites

Memorial Park, Masterton

click image to enlarge




memorial park

I am looking for pictures and other information to do with the football ground for this province, if you can help please contact me on

Founded - 1971 (merger of Wairarapa and Bush, formerly of Hawkes Bay)
Main Ground - Memorial Park, Masterton.
Capacity - 10,000
Colours - Turquoise green jersey with scarlet collar and cuffs, red shorts, green socks with red bands.


The Union was formed in 1971 when, after much lobbying and soul-searching, the old Wairarapa and Bush unions voted to amalgamate.
The first 10 years of amalgamation required hours of hard work in the committee stages. In 1981 all facets of the Union were running smoothly with headquarters established at Memorial Park, Masterton.
As a result the Union won the 2nd Division title, thus gaining promotion to what was to be a six year stint in 1st division, no mean feat for a minor union.
In the past 30 years the Wairarapa-Bush Union has contributed many players and officials to the National scene.
The most notable are Sir Brian Lochore (All Black Captain, Selector/Coach), J J Galvin (NZRFU President), P L Penn (NZ Selector/Assistant Coach, President/Elect), D J Galvin (NZ Council) R C Francis (NZ Referees Association).


CEO Phil Taylor
Coaching Doug Bracewell
Wairarapa-Bush RFU
Agricultural House
26 Perry Street
P O Box 372
Tel 06 378 8369
Fax 06 378 8009