Make your own free website on


Club Rugby | Club Web Sites

Palmerston North Showgrounds

click picture to enlarge



I am looking for pictures and other information to do with the football ground for this province, if you can help please contact me on

Founded - 1886
Main Ground - Showgrounds Oval, Palmerston North.
Colours - Green jersey with narrow white hoops, green shorts, green and white hooped socks


Formed in 1886 Manawatu has produced 36 All Blacks. Manawatu's golden era occurred during the 1970's and held the Ranfurly Shield 1976-77-78, won the 1st Division National Championship in 1980 and were runners up in 1976 and 1981. Relegated to 2nd Division in 1988 Manawatu has remained in the lower division ever since. During 1997-98 Manawatu joined Hawke's Bay to field the Vikings team in NPC. The Vikings won the championship in 1998 but the union failed to meet the NZRFU criteria for promotion.

Manawatu has always worn the distinctive green and white 'tramlines' jersey. In earlier years the union regularly combined with Horowhenua to play major touring teams. From 1925 to 1932 Manawatu and Horowhenua combined as Manawhenua and held the Ranfurly Shield briefly in 1927. Outstanding All Blacks from Manawatu include Rod McKenzie, Sam Strahan, Kent Lambert, Doug Rollerson, Mark Donaldson, Gary Knight, Mark Shaw, and Christian Cullen.


click above to official site

CEO Allan Brown
COACHING Hamish Adams
Manawatu RFU
Pitt Street
P O Box 1729
Palmerston North
Tel 06 357 2633
Fax 06 354 1670